What Books I’m Bringing on My Cruise + How I Chose Them

I’m leaving to go on a cruise soon and I wanted to share what books I’m bringing. I always over pack when it comes to books, but I will be sharing a suitcase with my sister, so she made me limit myself. Therefore, I will only be bringing two.

What Books I'm Bringing on Vacay

Book #1: Paper Towns by John Green

13509794_828293420604106_1669705047_o

I actually started this book (11 pages of it to be exact) on my vacation last summer, but just didn’t get into it. I have been loving reading again (I have been in a major reading slump…aren’t those the worst??), so I am now very excited to read it!

Synopsis (taken from Barnes and Noble’s website):

When Margo Roth Spiegelman beckons Quentin Jacobsen in the middle of the night—dressed like a ninja and plotting an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows her. Margo’s always planned extravagantly, and, until now, she’s always planned solo. After a lifetime of loving Margo from afar, things are finally looking up for Q . . . until day breaks and she has vanished. Always an enigma, Margo has now become a mystery. But there are clues. And they’re for Q.

Book #2: Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen

13518208_828293497270765_232512258_o

I’ve read one or two of Sarah Dessen’s books and they have never been my favorite. However, I am in the mood for some romance and I have had this one on my TBR shelf for quite awhile! I don’t like to write off an author without giving them some solid chances. I made an exception with Nicholas Sparks, though, because I am just not a fan of his books at all. When I read a book with romance, I don’t want someone to die because I just think about how hard it would be if I lost my boyfriend. Sorry for the rant. Onto the synopsis.

Synopsis (taken from Goodreads):

Halley has always followed in the wake of her best friend, Scarlett. But when Scarlett learns that her boyfriend has been killed in a motorcycle accident, and that she’s carrying his baby, she was devastated. For the first time ever, Scarlett really needs Halley. Their friendship may bend under the weight, but it’ll never break–because a true friendship is a promise you keep forever. 

 13517890_828302440603204_371358192_o

How did I choose?

I have SO MANY books on my shelf and I find it so hard to choose what books I want to read or bring places. I knew I wanted to read something with romance on the cruise because that genre always holds my attention. I didn’t want to bring paperbacks because I am picky with the condition of my books, but I didn’t have any hardbacks that stood out to me.

I wanted to bring Paper Towns because John Green is a great writer. Also, I want to watch the movie for Paper Towns and I have this thing where I don’t watch a movie unless I’ve read the book first. (I’ve seen The Giver and have yet to read the book and I’m kinda salty about that, but the movie was really good, so I’m excited to read the book!)

I wanted to bring Someone Like You because part of me just really likes the cover. I’m gonna be on the beach for some of the days on my trip, and this cover has a beach soooo it’s meant to be, right?? Okay, okay, yeah the synopsis is pretty interesting as well.

So those are the books I’ll be reading while I’m on vacation. I typically do most of my reading in the airport and on the airplane. I am super excited to go on this cruise! Especially since it’s been so long since I’ve gone on one (I was three, so I don’t even remember it.).

What books do you plan on reading on vacation this summer? If you aren’t going on vacation, what books are you planning on reading this summer? And let me know what you are currently reading! I love adding more books to my TBR list (even though it is already way to long).

-Jamie

3 thoughts on “What Books I’m Bringing on My Cruise + How I Chose Them

Leave a Reply

