The Best Quotes from Paper Towns

Paper Towns not only had an amazing plot. It also had some thought provoking quotes. It also had some very funny quotes. I am here to share some of these quotes with you today! Some of them definitely got me thinking, so I hope they get you thinking, too! Enjoy!

Paper Towns Quotes 7

“I’d be crazier than a shithouse rat.” –Quentin

“I’m de-vandalizing the Omnictionary article about a former prime minister of France.” –Radar

“Getting you a date to prom is so hard that the hypothetical idea itself is actually used to cut diamonds.” –Quentin

Paper Towns Quotes

“Getting you a date to prom is so hard that a thousand monkeys typing at a thousand typewriters for a thousand years would never once type ‘I will go to prom with Ben.’” –Quentin

“…mom put a goddamned baby monitor in my room so she would hear me sleep-breathing all night” –Margo

“Listen, that reminds me, I took the liberty of putting some supplies in the back of the van earlier.” –Margo

Paper Towns Quotes 1

“The rules of capitalization are so unfair to words in the middle.” –Margo

“And now life has become the future.” –Margo

“Thank you, Annoying McMasterGrammician.” –Margo

“I’m like ninety-seven-point-two percent sure.” –Margo

“Um, you picked the wrong house.” –Quentin

Paper Towns Quotes 2

“I wanted to say, the only thing we stole was your eyebrow.” –Quentin

“We can’t break into Seaworld.” –Quentin

“…as long as I wasn’t ritually decapitating gerbils or urinating on my face, she figured I was a success.” –Quentin (narration)

“Compared to those Freshmen, I spent the morning in a field of rainbows frolicking with puppies.”

“Holy shitstickers.” –Ben

“Incidentally, some vandal has added that butt hinges function well because they are powered by farts.” –Radar

Paper Towns Quotes 4

“Yeah, and a demon who can only be nourished by the pancreases of young boys could also be there.” –Ben

“I wanted to ridicule him for chatspeak IRL…” –Quentin (narration)

“Talking to a drunk person was like talking to an extremely happy, severely brain-damaged three-year-old.” –Ben

“Peeing is like a good book in that it is very, very hard to stop once you start.” –Quentin (narration)

“Ben, did you glue yourself to the beer sword?” –Lacey

Paper Towns Quotes 3

“You keep expecting people not to be themselves. I mean, I could hate you for being massively unpunctual and for never being interested in anything other than Margo Roth Spiegelman, and for, like, never asking me about how it’s going with my girlfriend—but I don’t give a shit, man, because you’re you. My parents have a shit ton of black Santas, but that’s okay. They’re them. I’m too obsessed with a reference Web site to answer my phone sometimes when my friends call, or my girlfriend. That’s okay, too. That’s me. You like me anyway. And I like you. You’re funny, and you’re smart, and you may show up late, but you always show up eventually.” –Radar

And

“Just saying: stop thinking Ben should be you, and he needs to stop thinking you should be him, and y’all just chill the hell out.” –Radar

“Minivan, you albatross around my neck!” –Quentin (narration)

“Well, but you can eat Grandma’s cookies. They’re not bad for you. They were made by Grandma. Grandma wouldn’t hurt you.” –

“It is easy to forget how full the world is of people, full to bursting, and each of them imaginable and consistently misimagined.” –Quentin

Paper Towns Quotes 6

“…kerfuffle…” –Quentin (narration)

“I tell her: we were dead, and then Ben managed to spin the car in just the right way, like some kind of brilliant vehicular ballerina.” –Quentin (narration)

“I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I wasn’t thinking about none of y’all. I. Wanted. To. Save. My. Ass.” -Ben

“I think you should be the official stuff-namer.” –Radar

“What a treacherous thing it is to believe that a person is more than a person.” –Quentin (narration)

“The writing is indecipherable, not because Margo’s handwriting is bad, but because on top of the horizontal lines of text, writing also goes vertically down the page.” –Quentin (narration)

“’I write crosshatch,’ she says. ‘Very hard for non-Margo readers to decode.’” –Margo

Paper Towns Quotes 5

“’’But when it came right down to it, the skin of my wrist looked so white and defenseless that I couldn’t do it. It was as if what I wanted to kill wasn’t in that skin or the thin blue pulse that jumped under my thumb, but somewhere else, deeper, more secret, and a whole lot harder to get at.’’” –The Bell Jar (Margo’s book)

“Forever is composed of nows.” –Margo

“’When did we see each other face-to-face? Not until you saw into my cracks and I saw into yours. Before that, we were just looking at ideas of each other, like looking at your window shade but never seeing inside. But once the vessel cracks, the light can get in. The light can get out.’” -Quentin

 

In case you missed last weeks post, here it is! It is all about my Bookish Pet Peeves! 🙂

-Jamie

9 thoughts on “The Best Quotes from Paper Towns

Leave a Reply

