Book Review and Ramblings: Clockwork Angel

Hi guys! Long time, no talk! I really want to start posting twice a week, considering this is one of three posts that are either ready to be posted or almost ready. Basically, I could so do it, but let me know your thoughts! Happy Wednesday and enjoy today’s post. 🙂

Number of Stars: 5

Okay, so if you have not read Clockwork Angel, GO READ IT NOW. I waited far too long and it is painful for me to not pick up Clockwork Prince right now (I finished Clockwork Angel just a couple of hours ago). The ending made me so upset because it left it at such a cliffhanger…sorta. Anyway, I just really want to know what happens next.

Clockwork Angel.jpg

Before starting the review (okay, this is more of me rambling and spewing out thoughts all over the place like demon guts), I want to tell you guys just how good this book was. I bet you could never guess where/how I read almost this entire book (at least half). So my parents just got all new landscaping around our house, so all the plants have to be watered AT LEAST every other night. It’s my job, so I would just, ya know, bring my book and read as I did it. I cannot even imagine what the people thought as they were driving by. I was walking around the house constantly moving hoses, with my nose in Clockwork Angel. Made the job fun because I was in the world of Shadowhunters while watering the plants around my house! I just could not put this book down!

For those who have not read the book: Synopsis taken from Goodreads

“In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…”

(aka go read it…it is so good)

Onto the ramblings! There may (will) be spoilers!! 

            This book quickly drew me in. I have read the Mortal Instruments series (and loved it), so I loved being back in that world. One thing I noticed about this book was how it was sorta similar to how City of Bones started, yet very different. Jace is to Will as Clary is to Tessa as Valentine is to Mortmain. Lots of characters I can relate to, but they all still had little quirks that made them unique!

Tessa’s quirk happened to be her shape-shifting abilities. I thought it was so unique how she had to be holding something from the person she wanted to shape shift into. Not your typical shape shifter! Also, I thought it was so messed up how the Dark Sisters had to “train her.” I felt so bad for Tessa…then Will comes to the rescue. *sigh*

Clockwork Angel- Will.jpg
I live for Will’s witty comments and sarcasm.

Then you meet Jem. I liked him from the beginning, but I liked him even more by the end. I swear…if they kill him off I am going to cry so hard. Poor Jem: being addicted to demon blood has got to be awful. The part about it slowly killing him is not what I expected. When he told Tessa, I felt really sad because part of me was trying to decide whether I wanted Tessa with Will or Jem. I don’t like a sad ending, so at that point I was rooting for Wessa (Till? Idk if that is a thing, but now it is).

Let’s take a moment to talk about the blossoming relationships in this book. Tessa and Will definitely have the Chemistry, but he is SUCH an ass (sorry for my language). Seriously, though! At the end, that whole stunt he pulled about using Tessa’s room and such. Ugh…why Will?! I was starting to see your soft side and then it was gone within a matter of pages!

Now, Jem…I love you. He was so sweet and caring. A much softer and older (not age-wise) than Will. He told Tessa so much and had the ability to open up, unlike Will. Will is holding something back and I want to know what it is. The Epilogue ended with a very distraught Will, but why? I hope they answer this question in Clockwork Prince!

Sorry for being all over the place, but this book has me reeling with so many feelings.

The automatons in this book were an odd twist that I never would have expected! An even crazier twist is the Magister’s identity. Who else was completely thrown for a loop? When the Enclave went to go kill de Quincy, I was thinking, “this seems way too easy.” I just rolled with it, knowing something would still happen to keep the book exciting. I never guessed that 1. Mortmain was the real Magister or 2. That Nate (don’t get me started on that boy) was a backstabbing, good for nothing boy.

Jessamine surprised me at some points during the end. When Mortmain comes with the automatons, she fought with a gusto. She tried to not be a Shadowhunter for the entire book, and this paid off in the end. I believe that Tessa would be dead if it weren’t for Jessamine. Mortmain thought he had lured all of the Shadowhunters out of the Institute when he told Will and Jem about the Dark Sister’s plan to activate all of the automatons at midnight; however, Jessamine IS a Shadowhunter, and she kicked automaton butt (for the most part).

It was sad to see Thomas and Agatha die, but I wasn’t really attached to them at all, so no tears came. I liked Sophie, so I was happy when she made it through the fight alive.

I must admire Tessa. She really scared me at the end. I honestly thought she was going to die and then Magnus Bane would have to come do some witchy voodoo to bring her back (we all know they can’t kill the main character in the first book). She managed to shape shift at the right moment and when I found that out, I couldn’t get over how clever it was!

Tessa was pretending to kill herself because Mortmain was going to take her with him. He said he created her (what?) and made it sound like her dad was a demon? Mortmain vanishes before he can answer any of these questions. Not sure how he did it, considering he is just a mundane.

I realize that this is a lot of rambling, but I don’t know how else to tell my thoughts on this book. There is so much more about this book, and it is so hard to talk about it all. Now, leave a comment about your favorite/least favorite scene from this book! Have you read it? Did you enjoy it? Did you hate it? Tell me all of your thoughts! I wanna talk books (especially Clockwork Angel)!

-Jamie

7 thoughts on “Book Review and Ramblings: Clockwork Angel

  1. Ohh I did like this one too!! Although I kind of love ALL the Cassandra Clare books by this point so I’m not even surprised that I enjoyed this series.😂 Will and Jem’s friendship was THE BEST and I’m intensely jealous of the way Will and Tessa can just spout out these massive bookworm-ish quotes. Like seriously??? That is a skill??!! I WANT IT.😂
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

