Review and Ramblings: Clockwork Princess

Hey guys! So I just finished the final book in The Infernal Devices series and it was AHMAZING! I even teared up from both sadness and happiness. That never happens, so I was clearly very attached to the plot and characters. I didn’t want it to end!

Clockwork Princess

Number of Stars: 5 Stars

Non-Spoilery Part:

“Danger and betrayal, love and loss, secrets and enchantment are woven together in the breathtaking finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.”

There are most definitely going to be spoilers below. I WARNED YOU.

Wow. Just…wow.

Like, what do I do with my life now?

Do I…actually…like…have to do mundane stuff (ew)??

I’d rather be back in Tessa Gray’s world, but since I’m not, might as well babble about it!

I came to love so many of the characters in this book: Sophie, Jessamine (I know, I know…but the last moments of her life made me love her), Gideon, Cecily, Will (obviously), Jem, Charlotte, Henry, Tessa, and even Gabriel. But I also grew to hate some characters: Tatiana Lightwood, the Consul, and Mortmain (obviously have to hate the bad guy).

I think the most moving parts in this book were between Jem and Will. Even though Jem was supposed to marry Tessa, he did not get angry with Will when he found out that Will loved Tessa. He simply asked Will to go after her, for she had been taken by Mortmain’s minions. This was their goodbye because Jem was dying.

Clockwork Princess Quote.jpg

When they said goodbye, I was most definitely sad, but it was bound to happen so I had already been prepared. Now, the part I was NOT prepared for was Jem becoming a Silent Brother. Like, WHAT?! Yet, while that made me so happy because he was ALIVE, Cassandra Clare managed to make me tear up about the whole situation. It was the whole Silent Brothers can’t marry, can’t play music, can’t do this, can’t do this. They live a lonely life. AND I DON’T WANT JEM TO BE LONELY.

In the final battle, everyone found out that Jem was a silent brother when he was about to be killed (um, insert mini heart attack here). I literally sat with my hand covering my mouth, so I probably looked completely absurd. #noshame

So Jem and Will were able to fight side by side one last time, which made me so so sooo happy. I was even happier when neither of them died!!! Thank the Lord!

In this book, you finally find out what Tessa really is. She is half-demon half-shadowhunter, which is pretty cray, but true. A demon pretended to be her father, and her mother had no idea. At the same time, her mother was a shadowhunter, and she had no idea.

Will gets to spend a lot of time with his younger sister, Cecily, in this book. It was so cute to read about their interactions. Seeing Will’s protectiveness over someone other than Tessa made my heart melt (not literally…it’s still beating, don’t worry).

Clockwork Princess Quotes 1

My FAVORITE part about this book was when Tessa and Will get married. I am so happy they ended up together. When Jem died, I realized that maybe I did like Tessa and Jem together. Things just felt more right between Will and Tessa, though.

BUT. THE EPILOGUE. BROKE. MY. HEART. And then proceeded to mend it back together. So, Will and Tessa had cute little Wills and Tessas, but Cassandra Clare just HAD to write about the scene where Will dies of old age (*tears*). That was unnecessary!

I was honestly so happy when Jem ended up leaving the Silent Brothers to be a normal kid (man?) again. He filled up the hole that was formed into my heart from Will’s death. Then, Tessa and Jem become a thing again! Yay! Tessa is no longer alone!!! That made me so happy.

Clockwork Princess Quotes 2.jpg
REREADING THIS PART BROUGHT TEARS TO MY EYES. IT SERIOUSLY IMPACTED ME AND I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO DO. Haha! Sorry, guys.

I came to love Magnus Bane so much in this book. From fighting alongside the shadowhunters to helping Will in everything he needs, he was just such a pivotal character in this entire series.

Who read this series? How did you feel about this book? I felt like it tied up all loose ends and it was very satisfying! Is there anything you still want to know??

-Jamie

5 thoughts on “Review and Ramblings: Clockwork Princess

  1. I love that sayings from Cecily.. She’s wise indeed 🙂 I am nearly done with the book. I’m glad Gabriel changed to his better self because I didn’t like him so much in the beginning. And Magnus Bane.. he’s too funny when he caught Will & Tessa in bed… haha.. I can imagine his shocked/amuse face.. haha.. Will you be reading The Bane Chronicles? It’s about Magnus Bane I believe. Great review! I will put mine up today or tomorrow 🙂

    Like

  2. I like your spoiler review. I smile reading your reviews. The last portion of the book has a lot and I feel the same way as you about Will growing old and Tessa being lonely. The wait for Jem is just too long! I was hoping Jem becomes immortal but I’m disappointed he didn’t. Jem is really a good guy. How is he not jealous seeing Tessa with Will that many years with kids and all that? Or maybe he is but he can’t do anything about it. I think some part of the book can be skipped so we wouldn’t have to wait so long for Jem’s happy ending.

    Like

    1. Yeah it was long, but I truly couldn’t get enough of this book! And I never understood how he wasn’t jealous, but I think he loved both Tessa and will so much that he just wanted them happy. That in itself makes Jem an incredible person in my opinion! And thanks so much! I have fun writing them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

