Book Review: War of Rain

*I received this book for free and may be receiving compensation for my review, but all opinions expressed are completely my own!*

I finally finished another book! Woo!! Which means I get to write a book review, where I will basically ramble about the book endlessly…with lots of spoilers. Don’t worry, I’ll warn you before the spoilers come! Now, onto the good stuff.

Number of Stars: 5

14393320_884877974945650_951591944_o.jpg

Synopsis (taken from Goodreads):

“Fifteen year-old Miri lives in a desert village called Boreala, which competes with the city of Stratos for Rain – the equivalent of Holy Water. During a confrontation while gathering Rain, Miri accidentally kills a citizen of Stratos, and unintentionally starts a heinous war. Now it is up to her to find the God of Rain, Kalono, and ask Him for an invention that can bring both peace and war before Boreala is destroyed.”

Non-spoilery part:

Alright, so to be completely honest, I thought I was going to give this book a bad review. It was set up into three different parts and the first part just didn’t give me the “I want more” feeling. Some parts seemed to have more description than I’d like and I’d get a tad bored, but part two changed the game! It got so good from the moment part two started.

War of Rain is a different type of dystopian book than the ones I’ve read. When I think about dystopian, I think about super advanced technologies that I couldn’t even ever imagine, but War of Rain is the complete opposite! Humankind was almost extinguished when Earth started to turn into a barren wasteland. A lot of people died and only a small amount were left to repopulate and regain the technology that was lost.

Overall, I loved this book! It had a slow start, but from there, it just kept getting better and better. If you enjoy lots of description when a book starts, you will probably enjoy the entire book quite a lot! I was in a bit of a reading rut when I started this one so it took a bit for me to really get into it.

Spoilery part:

Miri is a murderer. Well, that’s what her people call her (however, she calls herself that, too), anyway. She killed a member of another village, Stratos. Tensions had already existed between Stratos and the other villages, including Miri’s village, so when Miri kills the member of Stratos, it starts a war.

When the barbarians of Stratos (that’s what they call themselves) come to Miri’s village, they take Miri. She is thrown down into a large flat plain area, which is surrounded by tall walls of sand and dirt. Climbing out is impossible.

War of Rain.jpg

When things started to go wrong on Earth, animals had to change and adapt to stay alive. Crows became huge and dangerous. The giant crow that is constantly causing the villages trouble starts to attack Miri while she is stuck in the plain area, but she manages to escape with Philippe’s help. Philippe was an inventor for the barbarians who refused to kill a woman, so the barbarians decided to punish him by keeping him in the plain.

Miri gets this crazy escape plan to ride on the crow’s back to go back to her village….annnddd they actually succeed. In the process, she kills a bunch of the barbarians, but that’s no big deal. She kind of seemed murder-crazed during that part, and I don’t know how she managed to successfully kill so many of the big, burly men, but it happened.

Then, Exodus, the big, bad barbarian in charge, tells Miri that she can save her people if she goes to Kalona to ask him for an invention that will bring both peace and war to all the villages.

When Miri goes to complete this task (which she only had TWO DAYS to complete….ugh, why?), she finds a city (not small enough to be considered a village) called Tropos. While in Tropos, she meets so many people, learns to read, learns to write, and learns all the subjects possible.

During her time in Tropos, she tries to figure out what the invention is supposed to be. I never would’ve guessed what it was, but after I found out, it was so obvious! Like, duh! Oh, wait, did I say what it was yet? Oh, silly me! It was knowledge! Miri wrote everything down that she learned in Tropos in one book, and drew pictures in another book.

War of Rain2.jpg

By this point, it has been over a year (so much for the two day deadline), and she hopes and prays that the barbarians didn’t follow through with their plan. The barbarians were notorious for lying, so she wasn’t just being naïve.

When she goes to find her city, it’s gone, along with all of the other nearby villages. She finds a few of the villagers hiding out in a cave. AND PHILEPPE IS THERE! *insert major heart eyes here* There was romance, guys…this book was a winner!

So using the books written by Miri, they build catapults and trubuchets (told ya they lost all technology) to attack the city of Stratos. The barbarians had taken the villagers as hostages to melt Rain. Rain can only be melted through prayer, and barbarians cannot pray. The villagers on the other hand, CAN pray.

Miri and the remaining free villagers, attack Stratos. They don’t win without a miracle….literally. With Kalona’s help, they defeat Stratos.

The most depressing part during the battle was when Phileppe died. Not even kidding….I had tears in my eyes. Miri saw it happen and it was BRUTAL. BUT when Kalona washes everyone with water, Phileppe is basically brought back to life. Along with this, everyone’s wounds are healed. Needless to say, I was happy.

After the battle, the villagers live in peace and begin to rebuild their once-destroyed villages. And they all live happily ever after. Haha! A happy ending is always a great ending!

So, basically, I really enjoyed this book! It isn’t something I’d normally pick up, but I am so glad I did! I definitely recommend to you all! I hope you all enjoyed reading. Have a great rest of the day!

-Jamie

2 thoughts on “Book Review: War of Rain

Leave a Reply

