Book Review: Pretty Bird

*I was sent this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are always my own!*

Hey guys! I’ve got another book review for you today! This was another genre that I typically don’t pick up, but I definitely enjoyed it for the most part. There are a few things I didn’t enjoy, but you will hear all about that in the review!

So this book was super fun to read because I read it on my Nook. I haven’t used this thing in ages!! I’ve missed it! I have the very first version that ever came out and it still serves me well. I wonder if they even sell these anymore??

Now, for an important question before I start my review for Pretty Bird by Olivia Howe: physical books or ebooks? Which do you prefer?

Number of stars: 4/5

15146747_940280062738774_1126635865_o.jpg

Synopsis (taken from Goodreads):

“Kenna loses her forever, Derrick, in a tragic plane crash that kills everyone on board—150 people, including the love of her life. People keep calling her lucky, but she feels the opposite. Now she has to move on with her life without Derrick in it and no strategy for getting past this senseless tragedy.

Investigators tip her off that there may be more to the story… behind the crash, the menacing Company that controls people, and even her dead boyfriend.

When someone tries to kill Kenna again in her own home, she is shocked into action and starts to uncover the truth about the corruption and craziness around her, finding herself and her heart again in the process. They say that time heals all wounds. Kenna has a chance to find out if that is really true.”

Non-Spoilery Review:

I didn’t know how many stars to give this book. I almost put 3/5, but I did not think that was fair. There were a few scenes that made me uncomfortable, but I know that some people would be fine with them. Personally, I am just not comfortable reading about certain things.

The reason I did give it 4/5 is because the couple’s kept saying “baby” to each other. It felt overused; they would say it after almost everything they said to each other. Also, the main character, Kenna, used a lot of profanity, which I also did not enjoy so much. However, I felt like it was justified a bit because she did go through a traumatic event.

Other than those few things, I really enjoyed this book. It even gave me chills a few times! I felt like I needed to look over my shoulder when a scary scene would occur. Do you guys ever get that feeling when you are reading?

I feel like the reason I loved this book the most was the mystery. When I read a mystery, I can’t ever stop reading. I NEED to know what happens. It’s all I think about until I finish the book. This is exactly how I felt during this entire book. I was so excited every time I’d get a couple of minutes to read a few pages. Great job with the mystery, Olivia Howe!

Spoilery Review:

This thrilling book starts off with a plane crash where everybody dies except for Kenna. Bam! What a start! It looks like a normal plane crash, until Kenna finds out some disturbing news: her boyfriend, who died on the plane crash, was an assassin for a company called…..The Company. Crazy stuff, right?

Kenna starts to get involved with the case once she hears this news. The detective for the case, Nathan, tries to keep her out of it, but fails. They find out that The Company was the reason for the plane crash that killed Kenna’s boyfriend. This causes Kenna’s obsession with the case to increase.

pretty-bird-1

Then, Kenna is almost killed in her home, and Nathan is almost killed by his partner. Kenna moves in with Nathan for safety reasons. Shortly after these events, Kenna finds out that her brother-in-law, Chase, is also a part of The Company; however, he wants out…just like Kenna’s boyfriend, who clearly didn’t make it out alive.

Chase, Nathan, and Kenna devise a plan. The head of the company, Jeff, was in need of a secretary. The plan? Kenna will apply for the secretary position and, assuming she gets the job, will snoop around to find what they need: the flash drive that contains all of The Company’s information.

pretty-bird-2

Kenna gets the job and does as much snooping as she can….then Jeff starts making moves on her. He threatens to fire her if she doesn’t sleep with him (not in those words). This occurs within a short amount of time, and Kenna did not have the flash drive. She sets her mind to finding the flash drive, and goes to the office…at night.

pretty-bird-3

Jeff finds her snooping in his closet, trying to crack his safe. When Kenna took the job, she had a different identity; however, Jeff knew who she was the whole time. Nathan comes to save Kenna (they had a microphone and camera attached to her at all times for safety reasons), but Kenna gets knocked out and Jeff and his minions take Nathan.

pretty-bird-4

It is up to Chase and Kenna to save Nathan. They get the help of Martin, a man that Kenna’s boyfriend trusted completely. In the process of saving Nathan, Kenna gets shot, but doesn’t die. She wakes up in a hospital for the second time in the book; this girl goes through a lot in just 180 pages!

pretty-bird-5

Throughout the book, a budding romance occurs between Nathan and Kenna. They seemed like they were perfect for each other. Overall, this book pleasantly surprised me.

pretty-bird-6

I hope you enjoyed my review!! Have any of you heard of Olivia Howe? Do you think you will check out some of her books? What have you all been reading lately?

-Jamie

One thought on “Book Review: Pretty Bird

Leave a Reply

