2017 Goals + Resolutions

Hello all!  I hope you are all getting accustomed to writing “2017” instead of “2016” for the date (I know it’ll take me awhile to get used to it). Today, I wanted to share with you all my goals for 2017!! I’d love to know what all of your goals are too, so tell me in the comments!

2017 Goals.jpg

I’d like to read 50 books this year. I can honestly say that I don’t even know if I’ll accomplish this, but I am going to try. On January 9th, I’ll be starting classes again, so I will be very busy with homework. I really want to make time for reading, though. Reading relaxes me and I will need to have ways to relax because I get VERY stressed out when I’m taking classes.

As for my blog, I’d like to post about 75 times this year. I am making this very low so I don’t stress myself out. This is a hobby for me, so I am not going post if I don’t have the time. Maybe I’ll end up surprising myself!

I’d like to post about 100 times on Instagram. So I’m going to be living in an apartment that has a TON of windows and I am SO EXCITED!! I have always loved rooms with lots of windows because I love natural light. This will also help with Instagram photos because I will have great natural lighting! Also, I have my own room, so I don’t need to worry about a roommate thinking I’m weird for taking pictures of my books (lol).

I plan to buy less books so that I can start lessening the number of books on my TBR shelves. I will admit it. I have way too many books that I have yet to read. I really want to get through as many as possible before buying more books. I am still going to accept books for review and I’ll still ask for books for my birthday, but I will refrain from buying books with my own money (unless Book Outlet has another great sale).

I want to reread the Harry Potter series. I even drew my boxed set onto my 2017 reading goals sheet! I have been wanting to read them for awhile now, but I never get around to it. It WILL happen this year!

Try new things. I hope to get out of my comfort zone in 2017. I want to learn more and try new things when opportunities come up. I made sure to do this when I first started college, and I’ve met more friends because of it.

Stay Motivated. I do see myself as a pretty motivated individual, but I do go through periods where I don’t feel like doing ANYTHING. This feeling will last for a week or two and I always just feel like crap about myself, but can’t seem to get myself to do anything. Hopefully, I can stay motivated all through 2017. I really want this to apply throughout this coming semester of school. I always fizzle out by the end of the semester, but I don’t want that to happen anymore.

Get up to 200 followers on my blog. I realize that this is probably a very high goal, but I do think it is possible. I started my blog in May and have almost 60 followers. I really think I could get to 200! Regardless, I get excited when anybody starts following my blog. It is hard to believe that people enjoy reading my ramblings!

Get up to 300 followers on my bookstagram. Gaining followers on bookstagram has been really hard for me, but I keep trying. I’m still trying to figure out exactly what I want my theme to be and everything. I am really loving my current theme, but I am moving again soon so I’ll have to change it AGAIN. Ugh. Maybe 2017 will help me figure out what the heck I am doing on bookstagram!

Meet and make bookish friends. I don’t know how people become friends in this community. I’ll hear people say how they are best friends with someone they met through their blog or bookstagram and I sit here like, “how?!?!?” I don’t know guys…I just don’t know. Lol. It is a good time here regardless, though, because you are all SO NICE. THANK YOU FOR YOUR KINDNESS!!

Do some more guest posts and have others guest post on my blog. I really want some people to guest post on my blog this year, and I’d love to do some guests posts myself. I have done one guest post and it was for Everything and Nothin’. You can read it here, and while your at it, take a look around on the blog!

 

So what are some of your goals for 2017?? How many books do you want to read?

-Jamie

12 thoughts on “2017 Goals + Resolutions

  1. I think these are some pretty great goals! 50 books is a great number, especially if you still have to attend classes, and I have the problem of buying too many books at one time, too haha. I have so many unread books on my shelves, it’s getting ridiculous. And I think a great way to meet and make bookish friends is by frequently leaving comments! It’s fun to strike up a convo with someone in the bookish community, and eventually you’ll find something in common you can fangirl about! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. And don’t worry haha. School’s already set me behind on some of my goals, namely commenting on blogs everyday, too. But once we get used to our schedule and if we stay on top of our hw, hopefully we’ll be able to set aside time for comments and discussions every day or every other day! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Those are really good goals 😀 About making friends, I didn’t get that either, but I’ve realised it is just about commenting on each other’s blogs and discuss things. Then it might develop into something else 🙂

    A goal of mine is to read 40 books, and not buy as many new books (doesn’t go very well, bought two today). Also, I want to get the number of unread books on my shelves down to zero.

    Good luck with your goals!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

