We Were Liars – Book Review

Hey, guys! I hope your day is/has been going well. Today, I am coming at you with a book review! I managed to finish We Were Liars in less than 24 hours, so it was a VERY quick read. Sitting at just 225 pages, with suspense on every page, it is a great book to pick up if you want something quick.

Number of Stars: 5

IMG_1552

Synopsis (taken from Goodreads):

“A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.”

 

Non-Spoilery Review:

This book is full of suspense. Even the synopsis is incredibly suspenseful. The writing style creates such a foggy tone. I say “foggy” because as you read this book, it feels like you are searching through fog for answers, but the fog just gets thicker and thicker. Then, suddenly, it clears. All answers are spilled out at the blink of an eye. And you really aren’t ready.

The characters in this book are frustrating, but real. A family broken by money, but pretending as if everything is hunky dory. It truly puts into perspective what money can do. Cadence, the main character, starts to see the truth about what the money is doing and wants to change things, but she really can’t.

A romance forms among some of the main characters in this book and it is both beautiful and heartbreaking. I think the best way to describe this book is with those two words: beautiful and heartbreaking.

If you haven’t yet picked up this book, please do so. You won’t be disappointed! It is a page-turner, with an excellent setting and well-built characters.

IMG_1429

Spoilery Review:

As I was reading this book, I was thinking “I just want to know how it endddssss.” Then, the truth came and it hit me so. Hard. There were tears in my eyes because it was SO unexpected. The part I am speaking of is when you find out that Gat, Mirren, and Johnny perished in the fire that they set.

To be honest, when I heard their plan (one person on the second floor, one person on the first, one person on the main, and one person in the basement), I really wondered how they all got out alive. I guess this should have been a clue, but I was truthfully just happy that they all lived. But they are dead. Three of the Liars are dead.

Being the hopeless romantic that I am, I wanted Gat and Cady to stay in love and get married one day. I feel as if they were doomed, like Romeo and Juliet, from the very beginning. Cady’s grandfather’s dismay with their relationship certainly wasn’t helping them have a happy ending.

Sometimes, I didn’t know what was ACTUALLY happening in this book. What was reality, and what was simply a metaphor? For example, E. Lockhart speaks of Cady bleeding on Gat, but she was never physically bleeding. She was hurting, and he was there. It wasn’t physical pain, it was emotional pain. Little details like these metaphors throughout the book added to the overall dismal and spooky tone. It was so perfect and I wouldn’t change it.

IMG_1553

I know this was relatively short, but share your thoughts down below. Have you read this book? What were your opinions?

Thanks For Reading 🙂 – Jamie

2 thoughts on “We Were Liars – Book Review

  1. I haven’t read this book, actually, I don’t think I’ve read something by E. Lockhart but if you managed to read it in less than 24 hours it definitely must be good. I can imagine you were not able to put it down, perhaps the intrigued was very provocative. I’ll put on my reading list, thanks for the recommendation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

