High as the Heavens Book Review

 

Hello, everyone! I had such high hopes this Summer for my blog, and I was excited to become a consistent blogger; however, life happened. Something happened a couple of months ago that made me want to just enjoy life for a bit. I have enjoyed doing other things, taking advantage of my free time while I still have. I still don’t know what I’m going to do with this blog, but I will pop on every so often. This is a creative outlet for me. Something fun, where I can share my thoughts on books and other things that I love. Hopefully you all understand my side of this, and thank you to all who have hit that follow button while I’ve been gone. ❤ Now, let’s get onto this review!!

 

Number of Stars: 5

74d0eba7529e450ba830971ec86128e2.jpeg

Synopsis:

“In 1917, Evelyn Marche is just one of many women who has been widowed by the war. A British nurse trapped in German-occupied Brussels, she spends her days working at a hospital and her nights as a waitress in her aunt and uncle’s café. Eve also has a carefully guarded secret keeping her in constant danger: She’s a spy working for a Belgian resistance group in league with the British Secret Service.

When a British plane crashes in Brussels Park, Eve is the first to reach the downed plane and is shocked to discover she recognizes the badly injured pilot. British RFC Captain Simon Forrester is now a prisoner of war, and Eve knows he could be shot as a spy at any time. She risks her own life to hide him from the Germans, but as the danger mounts and the secrets between them grow, their chance of survival looks grim. And even if they do make it out alive, the truth of what lies between them may be more than any love can overcome.”

 

Guys, this book was AMAZING. There were so many twists and turns, and I never knew what was coming next. You will not be disappointed if you pick up this book, especially if you love romance set during war time.

The characters in this book were built beautifully. Eve, the main character, was brave and cunning…sometimes taking risks that left me holding my breath, hoping all would be well in the end. All of the citizens of Belgium are full of secrets and are there for each other like family.

When Eve finds Simon Forrester, she has a long road ahead of her. A road full of secrets, lies, and heartache. I found myself hurting for her at her internal struggle. None of the suspense ended until the very last page. As I was nearing the end, I was wondering how all of my questions would be answered, but Kate Breslin tied everything in perfectly. I loved this book as a standalone. It was definitely a wonderful read.

One of my favorite things about this book was the references to God and the Bible. I loved seeing the Christian lifestyle in this book. Bethany House never disappoints with the books they publish! I have loved each book that they have sent to me.

 

Do you guys think you will be picking up High as the Heavens? I have already recommended it to two people, and plan to keep on recommending it! If you have any questions about it, feel free to ask in the comments! What have you been reading lately??

-Jamie

Leave a Reply

